Recording hours are from 8:30am - 3:50pm
|Document Recording||$22 for the 1st page and $2 for each additional page|
|Document Names Indexed||$1 per indexed name over four|
|Marginal References||$13 per marginal reference over one|
|Recording a Plan||$24|
|Copy Fees||$1 per page|
|Certified Document||$1 to certify plus the cost of the copies|
|Postage for Recordings||Please include postage or a stamped return envelope|
|* Document Recording fees for the State of Maine, Cities and Towns are $3 less than stated above.|
Black ink must be used and any stamps used must be well inked.
To meet the needs of all Maine County Registries, clean space and margins are required on all documents recorded. The Hancock County Registry requires 1 3/4 inch margins across the top of the first page, 1 1/2 inch margins across the bottom of the last page and 3/4 inch side margins on all pages. Please see the link below for additional details:
Under the Maine Revised Statutes Title 33: Property; Chapter 11: Register of Deeds; Subchapter 2: Records and Recording; Subsection 652: Recording Plans, you will find the required criteria of the State of Maine to record a plan. All plans must meet this criteria to be accepted for recording.
All deeds except corrective deeds, cemetery deeds, confirmatory deeds and deeds of distribution require a Real Estate Transfer Tax Declaration (RETTD). Additional information and forms are available through the State of Maine website and the links below: